The Happy Pigment

colour you life!

The Balancing Act.

Leave a comment

Oh I have been neglectful of this space! Safe to say I’m not very good at keeping up with technology. Don’t get me wrong I love technology! But between parenting, partnering, running my house hold and trying to run this little dye shop on the side, all on next to no sleep, I’m finding it increasingly hard to keep up with everything, and to top it all off my espresso machine broke yesterday! But I vow here and now to be more active on my blog!

So lets get up to date. I have had some great successes with tie dyeing and ice dyeing of late and a few flops, but lets focus on the positives.

I recently had the privilege of  dyeing a couple of dresses, something I haven’t done much of previously. I had grand ideas for these dresses and luckily the results were just as grand. I couldn’t have been happier.

The first was for a little girl, the idea was create a dress like a spiral dyed rainbow dress she had when she was younger, But little girls grow up rather quick, and her tastes had grown with her so it ended up being a darker colours, and a bit more grown up style. She requested an ice dyed spiral and it turned out amazingly well! The only pity is that the white dresses suitable for dyeing are really hard to come by at a decent price in Australia.

ava's spiral

I love this. It’s gorgeous. If it was my size I would wear it!

The next dress was made for a wonderful friend, unlike the first it was tie dyed instead of ice dyed. Mostly because the cotton it was made of was quite a lot thicker than the first. I chose the ‘V’ shape for the folding pattern because I love the way it flatters the contours of a womans body. This was one of the biggest pieces I’ve dyed so far and folding it was a bit of a mission, but one I thoroughly enjoyed.

cl dress folded

My friend had requested a dress in blues and greens so I used royal blue, turquoise, mermaids dream and black to give some sharp definition. The finished product is just about my favourite thing ever! I need to make myself a dress like this!

coral-lees dress

The only problem I found with these dresses is that I had to order them from America. Now that would be fine except the shipping is only worth while if you order in bulk. I don’t quite have the funds to order so many just yet and I can’t find any dresses quite like these in Australia that are a decent price and therefore worth my while to buy and dye. Which is fairly disappointing because they are both so gorgeous!

Last week I also had the pleasure of creating a family set of rainbow shirts for a The Indian Festival of Colour – Holi. I felt so happy that my friend liked my work so much that she wanted something special made just for this day. And the shirts turned out fantastic. Each one unique but still a rainbow of colours.

happy Holi.jpg

Now after all this I need to once again get my house in order after having family over most of the weekend and letting the kids run wild as usual. So until next week!

Always Love xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

